Q&A For Beginner Solvers

Older threads and posts

Q&A For Beginner Solvers

Postby bcrubiksmaster » Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:05 am

Hello, I just thought that since so many new cubers are getting stuck, I could kinda help them along. Ask any questions about the cube, and I will help you the best I can.

-BC Rubiksmaster

bcrubiksmaster

Re: Q&A For Beginner Solvers

Postby SHADOS3RP3NT » Tue Aug 12, 2008 5:08 am

hey im just starting out and have successfully solved the cube with the layer by layer method. this works fine and i can do it consistently but i was wondering if you could send me some links to websites that would explain how to solve the cube in other ways. Hopefully i can find one thats even better and give me something to do when im bored. any help would be awesome. very sorry if im reposting but i just got an account today and this thread seemed like it would be the quickest way to answer my question.
SHADOS3RP3NT

Postby bcrubiksmaster » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:42 am

You came to the right thread. I will give you the best advice I can.

Right now, you need to make a choice about what kind of solver you want to be. You can use an intuitive method, or a method that will take a lot of algorithm-memorizing.

If you want to take the first option, intuitive-style, you can choose one of these methods:

1.The Roux Method

2. The Petrus Method

They are both very intuitive.

If you like memorizing algorithms, you can  use this method:

Fridrich F2L-(part 1)(part 2) This method will increase your time by about a minute at first, but after a while, your time will decrease significantly. It will take a long time to get used to, but it solves the first layer corners and the middle layer at the same time.

After you learn Fridrich F2L, you need to learn Fridrich OLL and PLL (Orientation of the Last Layer and Permutation of the Last Layer).

OLL Instructive Video

PLL Instructive Video

List of OLLs

List of PLLs